Pixie helps you keep track of jobs and deadlines. This was designed with the Four Ds of Productivity in mind. Using My Day, you can:

  • do the job by checking items in its task list
  • delegate work to someone else in your team
  • delay a job by using the snooze function

Let's see how this all works in greater detail.

Viewing the List of Jobs Assigned to You

Click the My day icon in the sidebar menu

Pixie displays the List of jobs assigned to you. It also shows you the number of open, overdue, and urgent jobs.

NOTE: By default, Pixie displays only those jobs that are either overdue or that are due on the current day. To see the other jobs, click the Filter jobs button and select All from the Due by drop-down list to make Pixie show you all the jobs assigned to you.

Filtering the Job List

By default, Pixie displays only those jobs that are either overdue or that are due on the current day. But you can use the Filter jobs button to view other jobs that have been assigned to you. You can also use the Filter jobs button to view a subset of the jobs assigned to you.

Click the Filter jobs button to open the Filter jobs form.

Using this form, you can view:

  • Jobs that are due on the current day or on the following day.
  • Jobs that are due in the current week or the following week.
  • Jobs that are due in the current month.
  • All the jobs that have been assigned to you irrespective of when they are due.
  • Jobs of a particular client.
  • Jobs based on a specific template.

There are also three switches that you can turn on to view jobs that are waiting for a response from a client, jobs marked as urgent, and jobs that are overdue.

Specify the conditions by typing a client’s name, selecting from the drop-down lists, and/or enabling the switches.

Click the Apply filter button.

Pixie updates the job list to show all jobs that match your filter conditions.

NOTE: If you specify more than one condition, Pixie will display jobs that match ALL the conditions you specify. For example, if you specify the name of a client, select All in the Due by drop-down list, and enable Marked as urgent, Pixie will display all the urgent jobs of that client.

Viewing the Details of a Job

Click a job in the Job List to view its details.

TIP: You can also view the details of a job by clicking the more options icon () and selecting Open from the menu that appears.

You can perform the following tasks while viewing the details of a job:

  • You can view the tasks, emails and files related to a job. If a job consists of more than one task, you can view the details of a task by clicking it.
  • You can mark tasks as completed by clicking the checkmark (ü) next to a task. If you mark all the tasks of a job as completed, Pixie will mark the job as completed and move it to your Done list.

TIP: When you mark a task as completed, Pixie places an X next to the task. If you have marked a task as complete by mistake, click this X to once again mark the task as “To do” or unfinished.

  • You can also mark a job as urgent, or waiting for client.
  • You can snooze a job for a day or a week. To do this, move the mouse pointer over the bell icon (). Pixie will display the snooze menu. Select the appropriate option from the snooze menu. When you snooze a job, Pixie will move the job to the Snoozed jobs list.

TIP: You can also snooze a job directly from the Job List.

If you are part of a team, you can delegate a job to your teammate. To do this, click the Delegate job icon. Pixie will display a form with the names of all your teammates. Select the teammate to whom you want to delegate the job and click the Delegate button. Pixie will also move the job to your Delegated jobs list. Pixie will also display the job in your teammate’s To do list.

TIP: You can also delegate a job directly from the Job List.

After viewing the job details, click the My day icon in the sidebar menu to return to the Job List. Note that you may have to once again set the appropriate filters to see the jobs in the list.

Editing a job in progress

If you have the necessary permissions, you can also edit or make changes to the job details. Click the Edit job icon to edit the job details.

Snoozing Jobs

If you face delays in completing a job, you can snooze it for a day or a week. When you snooze a job, Pixie will move the job from your To do list to the Snoozed jobs list.

You can snooze a job directly from the To do list.

In the To do job list, point to the job you want to snooze. Pixie displays some icons next to the job.

Point to the bell icon. Pixie displays the snooze menu.

Select the appropriate option from the snooze menu.

Pixie moves the job to your Snoozed jobs list.

NOTE: You can also snooze a job while viewing the job details.

Pixie will move the job back to your To do list after the expiry of the snoozed duration.

Delegating Jobs

If you have a team, you can delegate jobs to others on your team. When you delegate a job, Pixie will move it to your Delegated jobs list.

You can delegate a job directly from the To do list.

In the To do job list, point to the job you want to delegate. Pixie displays some icons next to the job.

Click the Delegate job icon. Pixie displays the Delegate job form.

Select the teammate to whom you want to delegate the job and click the Delegate button.

Pixie moves the job to your Delegated jobs list. Pixie also sends the job to your teammate’s To do list.

NOTE: You can also delegate a job while viewing the job details.

Marking Jobs as Urgent or non-Urgent

You can mark a job as urgent. You can also change the priority of an urgent job to non-urgent or normal. You can do both these tasks from your To do list.

In the To do job list, point to the job you want to delegate. Pixie displays some icons next to the job.

Click the Set as Urgent/Non-Urgent icon. Pixie marks the job as Urgent and changes the colour of the job to blue.

TIP: If the job disappears from your To do list after you change its priority, you may have to once again set the appropriate filters to see the job in the list.

Deleting Jobs

You can delete a job if you have created one by mistake. You can delete jobs from your To do list.

In the To do job list, point to the job you want to delete. Pixie displays some icons next to the job.

Click the more options icon and select Delete from the menu that appears.

Pixie asks you to confirm the deletion.

Click the Confirm button to confirm the deletion.

Marking a Job as Done

Pixie will automatically mark jobs as done when you mark all the tasks as completed. But you can also manually mark a job as done.

In the To do job list, point to the job you want to delete. Pixie displays some icons next to the job.

Click the more options icon and select Mark as done from the menu that appears.

Pixie marks the job as completed and moves it to the Done list.

Viewing the List of Delegated Jobs

Click the My day icon in the sidebar menu.

Click Delegated from the sidebar menu.

Pixie displays the list of jobs that you have delegated to others.

You can perform the following tasks from this list:

  • Change the priority of a job
  • View the details of a job
  • Delete a job
  • Delegate the job to someone else

Viewing the list of Snoozed Jobs

Click the My day icon in the sidebar menu.

Click Snoozed from the sidebar menu.

Pixie displays the list of jobs that you have snoozed.

You can perform the following tasks from this list:

  • Change the priority of a job
  • Delegate the job to someone else
  • Remove the snooze
  • View the details of a job
  • Delete a job
  • Mark a job as done

Viewing the List of Completed Jobs

As you complete jobs, Pixie automatically moves the jobs to the Done list. You can view this list of completed jobs to get an idea of how much progress you have made during the day.

NOTE: The list is reset every day to keep things tidy.

Click the My day icon in the sidebar menu.

Click Done from the sidebar menu.

Pixie displays the list of jobs that you have completed during the day.

You can perform the following tasks from this list:

  • View the details of a job
  • Delete a job

TIP: To re-open a job that has been marked as completed, view the details of the job and mark one or more tasks as unfinished or “To do”. Pixie will re-open the job and move it back to your To do list.

Conclusion

As you have seen in you can perform all your job maintenance tasks in Pixie. You can view the list of jobs assigned to you, delegate jobs to others, change the priority of jobs, snooze jobs for a day or a week, delete jobs, and mark jobs or tasks as completed.

Did this answer your question?